An initiative by:

Paying by mobile phone bill: FAQ for users

Below you will find answers to the questions we are most frequently asked.

How does it work?

 "Zahlen per Handyrechnung" is a payment service of the Austrian mobile phone providers A1, Drei and Magenta. All customers with a mobile phone contract can use it to pay in many online shops. Billing then takes place via the mobile phone bill.

Digital products in particular can be purchased with this payment service. These include, for example, apps or in-app purchases, games, music, films, e-books or electronic tickets. Even donations to charitable organisations can be settled via the mobile phone bill.

The maximum payment amount that can be settled via the mobile phone bill is 50 euros per purchase. The monthly limit is 300 euros. Depending on the tariff, the network operator can also set lower limits.

 "Pay by mobile bill" is already possible in many online stores. These include, for example, the major stores such as Apple App Store, Google Play Store, Microsoft Store, Huawei App Gallery or Samsung Galaxy Store. Here you can find the list of the most important partners.

Paying by mobile phone bill is also easily possible via a computer or tablet. Here, the payment is secured with an SMS-TAN procedure. To do this, the user enters his mobile phone number on the website. He then receives an SMS with a TAN, which in turn must be entered on the website to confirm the payment by mobile phone bill.

Unlike other payment methods, no sensitive data has to be deposited. This makes the payment service simple and secure.

Paying by mobile phone bill is not tied to a mobile phone brand. All you need is a smartphone with a SIM card and a mobile phone contract. All payments made are then shown on the next mobile phone bill.

Similar to online banking, the most modern security protocols are used for data transmission. In addition, a TAN query protects against unwanted payments.

To avoid unwanted payments, you should only be able to unlock your screen using a PIN code, fingerprint or Face ID. Most providers of digital goods offer the possibility to set up access passwords. Access passwords are an additional protection against misuse. In addition, you should change passwords regularly. Since a lot of sensitive data is stored on your smartphone, always treat it like a wallet. You can prevent downloads from unknown sources in the mobile phone settings. In addition, you should regularly check your mobile phone bill.

You can cancel subscriptions that you have taken out in the large app stores, for example from Apple, Google or Huawei, directly there. Otherwise, all subscriptions can be cancelled in the self-care tool of the respective network operator.

Of course, "Pay by mobile phone bill" can also be deactivated. This is possible in the self-care tool of the respective network operator.

Have you used "Pay by mobile bill" for the first time?

  • Check in the self-care tool of your network operator whether the payment service is deactivated.
  • If you use a company cell phone, contact your administrator. Not every employer allows payments to be made by mobile phone bill
  • Not all contract rates and brands support this payment method. Ask your network operator directly whether "Pay by mobile phone bill" is possible for you.

Are you using "Pay by mobile bill" but it's not working right now?

  • Make sure that your monthly or personal limit has not yet been exceeded.
  • Try to perform the payment process again at a later time
  • When using a TAN, make sure that you have entered the TAN correctly or that you have not exceeded the time limit.

If you have any questions about your purchases, please contact the vendor directly. They have all the information about your purchase. If you need additional information about a transaction itself, you will find it on your mobile phone bill or in the self-care tool of your network operator. Of course, your mobile network provider is also available to answer any additional questions you may have.

Invoice

All purchases and providers are listed on your mobile phone bill.

The "Pay by mobile phone bill" service is completely free of charge for mobile phone customers.

Terms explained

With "third-party vendor" or "Third Party Services" is the Dealer/ Seller of its products are meant. For example, Google Play Store, Apple App Store, Microsoft Store, Huawei App Gallery, etc. are referred to as third-party providers or their products are referred to as third-party services.

Many smartphone apps, especially game apps but also console games, are often offered free of charge. If virtual gold coins, tokens, new characters or similar are purchased within an installed game, this process is referred to as a "token". In-app purchase designated.

ZaDiG is the abbreviation for the Payment Services Act, which provides the legal framework for payments in Austria. Specifically, "Paying by mobile phone bill" makes use of an exemption clause, which was defined in ZaDiG §3 Z12. For some providers, ZaDiG §22 is applied.
Here you will find the complete version.

A mobile phone contract is a contract with fixed services and fixed terms that is concluded between customers and mobile phone providers. It is individually tailored to the customer's needs and ensures smooth use of the mobile phone. At the end of the month, the customer receives an overview of the services used.

With prepaid tariffs, you make calls and surf the Internet using a prepaid credit balance without a contract with a mobile phone provider. There is no monthly basic fee. The preloaded credit makes it easier to control costs, making this type of billing particularly attractive for children and young people. If the credit is used up, it can easily be topped up again. As a rule, paying by mobile phone bill does not work with prepaid tariffs.

TAN stands for transaction number. A TAN is usually required for all banking transactions conducted online. The number, which usually has four to six digits, is a one-time password that must be entered for certain online transactions to verify identity. Without this entry, no transaction will take place. The TAN is usually sent by SMS.

The ticket is the provision of services in paper form . Usually it is used for transportation, parking or admission to events or cinemas. The electronic ticket replaces the paper form. However, the principle remains the same.

Digital goods are goods that are sold, delivered and consumed electronically. These include, for example, apps, e-books or online games.

Safety and security

  • Do not pass on any TAN codes to others. Neither personally nor to online friends.
  • Always secure your mobile phone with a PIN code to prevent unauthorised access.
  • Do not leave your mobile phone unattended around children or strangers, or block "Pay by mobile bill" in the Selfcare tool beforehand.
  • Enable password entry in the various app stores to prevent purchases by children especially with in-app purchases.
  • Look out for the confirmation SMS after purchase and the invoice sent to your registered email address.
  • Perform regular software updates , for example for your browser.
  • Disable the autofill function, especially for payments.
  • Always check your current cell phone bill.

If you suspect abuse, immediately block "Pay by mobile phone bill" with your mobile operator and contact the provider from whom the products/services were purchased. In many cases, they are very accommodating. In addition, the payment method is prevented by the provider. This prevents further damage.

Our children are growing up in a digital world. They use computers and smartphones as a matter of course. A few calls to value-added services or purchases are quickly made. A registration there, a few clicks here, and your child has the app he or she wants.

To help you avoid unpleasant surprises on your or your child's bill, network operators A1, Drei and Magenta offer special protection mechanisms specifically for children and young people. With active child and youth protection set up via your network operator, no more unwanted purchases can be made. Please contact your network operator directly for more information.

In addition, we recommend the protection mechanisms from Google, Apple and Microsoft. These not only offer protection against unwanted purchases, but also ensure age-appropriate access to content.

Paying by cell phone bill now also at XOXO

With powerful yet affordable rates for smartphones and cube, XOXO offers students in Austria a new alternative to the standardized providers. And on top of that, they benefit from the advantages of the "pay by cell phone bill" payment method without additional costs for a payment method.

Ö3-Christmas miracle

"You donate, we broadcast!" - this is the motto of the Ö3 Christmas miracle and the motto is program: Robert Kratky, Gabi Hiller and Andi Knoll play from 19 to 24 December for a donation.

Eine Initiative von:

Frequently Asked Questions

Im Folgenden finden Sie Antworten auf die Fragen, die uns am häufigsten gestellt werden.

Wie funktioniert's?

 „Zahlen per Handyrechnung“ ist ein Bezahldienst der österreichischen Mobilfunkanbieter A1, Drei und Magenta. Alle Kunden mit einem Mobilfunkvertrag können damit in vielen Online-Shops bezahlen. Die Abrechnung erfolgt dann über die Handyrechnung.

Vor allem digitale Produkte können mit diesem Bezahldienst erworben werden. Dazu gehören beispielsweise Apps oder In-App-Käufe, Spiele, Musik, Filme, E-Books oder elektronische Tickets. Sogar Spenden an gemeinnützige Organisationen können über die Handyrechnung abgerechnet werden.

Der maximale Zahlbetrag, der über die Handyrechnung abgerechnet werden kann, beträgt 50 Euro pro Kauf. Das monatliche Limit liegt bei 300 Euro. Je nach Tarif kann der Netzbetreiber auch niedrigere Limits festlegen.

 „Zahlen per Handyrechnung“ ist schon in vielen Online-Stores möglich. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel die großen Stores, wie Apple App Store, Google Play Store, Microsoft Store, Huawei App Gallery oder Samsung Galaxy Store. Hier finden Sie die Liste der wichtigsten Partner.

Das Zahlen per Handyrechnung ist auch über einen Computer oder Tablet problemlos möglich. Hier wird die Zahlung mit einem SMS-TAN-Verfahren abgesichert. Hierzu gibt der Nutzer seine Handynummer auf der Internetseite ein. Danach erhält er eine SMS mit einer TAN, die wiederum auf der Internetseite eingegeben werden muss, um die Zahlung per Handyrechnung zu bestätigen.

Im Gegensatz zu anderen Bezahlmethoden, müssen keine sensiblen Daten hinterlegt werden. Das macht den Bezahldienst einfach und sicher.

Das Bezahlen per Handyrechnung ist nicht an eine Handymarke gebunden. Man braucht lediglich ein Smartphone mit einer SIM-Karte und einen Mobilfunkvertrag. Alle getätigten Zahlungen werden dann auf der nächsten Handyrechnung ausgewiesen.

Ähnlich wie beim Online-Banking werden die modernsten Sicherheitsprotokolle zur Datenübertragung genutzt. Zusätzlich schützt eine TAN-Abfrage vor ungewollten Zahlungen.

Um ungewollte Zahlungen zu vermeiden sollten Sie ihren Bildschirm nur mittels PIN-Code, Fingerprint oder Face-ID entsperren können. Die meisten Anbieter digitaler Waren bieten die Möglichkeit Zugangspasswörter einzurichten. Zugangspasswörter sind ein zusätzlicher Schutz vor Missbrauch. Darüber hinaus sollten Sie Passwörter regelmäßig ändern. Da auf dem Smartphone viele sensible Daten gespeichert sind, behandeln Sie es grundsätzlich wie eine Geldbörse. In den Einstellungen des Handys können Sie das Herunterladen aus unbekannten Quellen unterbinden. Zusätzlich sollten Sie ihre Handyrechnung regelmäßig kontrollieren.

Sie können Abonnements, die Sie in den großen App Stores beispielsweise von Apple, Google oder Huawei, abgeschlossen haben dort direkt kündigen. Ansonsten sind alle Abonnements Im Selfcare-Tool des jeweiligen Netzbetreibers kündbar.

Natürlich kann „Zahlen per Handyrechnung“ auch deaktiviert werden. Dies ist im Selfcare-Tool des jeweiligen Netzbetreibers möglich.

Sie haben „Zahlen per Handyrechnung“ zum ersten Mal genutzt?

  • Kontrollieren Sie im Selfcare-Tool ihres Netzbetreibers, ob der Bezahldienst deaktiviert ist
  • Wenn Sie ein Unternehmenshandy nutzen, setzen Sie sich mit Ihrem Administrator in Verbindung. Nicht jeder Arbeitgeber erlaubt Zahlungen per Handyrechnung vorzunehmen
  • Nicht alle Vertragstarife und Brands unterstützen die Bezahlmethode. Erkundigen Sie sich direkt bei Ihrem Netzbetreiber, ob „Zahlen per Handyrechnung“ bei Ihnen möglich ist

Sie nutzen „Zahlen per Handyrechnung“, aber es funktioniert momentan nicht?

  • Stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihr monatliches bzw. persönliches Limit noch nicht überschritten ist
  • Versuchen Sie den Bezahlvorgang zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt erneut durchzuführen
  • Bei Verwendung einer TAN stellen Sie sicher, dass sie die TAN richtig eingegeben haben bzw. das Zeitlimit nicht überschritten haben

Wenn Sie Fragen zu Ihren getätigten Käufen haben, wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an den jeweiligen Anbieter. Dieser hat alle Informationen zu Ihrem Kauf. Sollten Sie ergänzende Informationen zu einer Transaktion selbst benötigen, finden Sie diese auf Ihrer Handyrechnung oder im Selfcare-Tool Ihres Netzbetreibers. Natürlich stehen Ihnen bei ergänzenden Fragen auch Ihre Mobilfunkanbieter zur Verfügung.

Rechnung

Alle Käufe und Anbieter sind auf Ihrer Handyrechnung aufgelistet.

Der Service „Zahlen per Handyrechnung“ ist für den Mobilfunkkunden völlig kostenlos.

Begriffe erklärt

Mit „Drittanbieter“ oder „Dienste von Drittanbietern“ ist der Händler/ Verkäufer seiner Produkte gemeint. Google Play Store, App Store von Apple, Microsoft Store, Huawei App Gallery etc. werden zum Beispiel als Drittanbieter bzw. deren Produkte als Dienste von Drittanbietern bezeichnet.

Viele Smartphone Apps, im speziellen Spiele Apps aber auch Konsolen-Spiele , werden oft kostenfrei angeboten. Wenn innerhalb eines installierten Spiels virtuelle Goldmünzen, Tokens neue Figuren oder Ähnliches erworben werden, so wird dieser Vorgang als In-App-Kauf bezeichnet.

ZaDiG ist die Abkürzung für das Zahlungsdienstegesetz, die den rechtlichen Rahmen für Zahlungen in Österreich vorgibt. Konkret bedient sich „Zahlen per Handyrechnung“ einer Ausnahmebestimmung, die im ZaDiG §3 Z12 festgelegt wurde. Bei manchen Anbietern kommt das ZaDiG §22 zur Anwendung.
Hier finden sie die vollständige Fassung.

Ein Handyvertrag ist ein Vertrag mit festen Dienstleistungen und festen Laufzeiten, der zwischen Kunden und Mobilfunkanbietern geschlossen wird. Er ist individuell auf die Bedürfnisse des Kunden zugeschnitten und gewährleistet eine reibungslose Nutzung des Handys. Am Ende eines Monats erhält der Kunde eine Übersicht über die genutzten Leistungen.

Bei Prepaid-Tarifen telefoniert und surft man ein im Voraus bezahltes Guthaben ab, ohne eine Vertragsbindung bei einem Mobilfunkanbieter. Eine monatliche Grundgebühr entfällt. Das vorher aufgeladene Guthaben erleichtert die Kostenkontrolle, so dass diese Art der Abrechnung für Kinder und Jugendliche besonders attraktiv ist. Ist das Guthaben aufgebraucht kann es mühelos wieder aufgeladen werden. In der Regel funktioniert Zahlen per Handyrechnung bei Prepaid-Tarifen nicht.

TAN steht für Transaktionsnummer. Eine TAN wird in der Regel für alle Bankgeschäfte, die online abgewickelt werden, benötigt. Die üblicherweise vier bis sechsstellige Zahl ist ein einmaliges Kennwort, das bei bestimmten Online-Transaktionen zur Identitätsprüfung eingegeben werden muss. Ohne diese Eingabe findet keine Transaktion statt. Die Versendung der TAN erfolgt normalerweise per SMS.

Das Ticket ist die Bereitstellung von Diensten in Papierform . Üblicherweise wird es bei Beförderungsmitteln, beim Parken oder für den Eintritt zu Veranstaltungen oder Kinos verwendet. Das elektronische Ticket ersetzt die Papierform. Das Prinzip bleibt jedoch dasselbe.

Digitale Güter sind Waren, die elektronisch verkauft, geliefert und konsumiert werden. Hierzu zählen z.B. Apps, E-Books oder Online-Games.

Sicherheit und Schutz

  • Geben Sie keine TAN-Codes an Andere weiter. Weder persönlich noch an Online-Freunde.
  • Sichern Sie immer Ihr Handy mittels PIN-Code, damit Unberechtigte keinen Zugriff darauf haben.
  • Lassen Sie Ihr Handy in der Nähe von Kindern oder Fremden nicht unbeaufsichtigt, oder sperren Sie vorher „Zahlen per Handyrechnung“ im Selfcare-Tool.
  • Aktivieren Sie die Passworteingabe in den diversen App Stores, um Käufe von Kindern vor allem mit In-App-Käufen zu unterbinden.
  • Achten Sie auf die Bestätigungs-SMS nach dem Kauf und auf die Rechnung, die an Ihre registrierte E-Mail-Adresse versendet wird.
  • Führen Sie regelmäßige Software-Updates durch , zum Beispiel für Ihren Browser.
  • Deaktivieren Sie die Autofill-Funktion, speziell bei Zahlungen.
  • Kontrollieren Sie immer Ihre aktuelle Handyrechnung.

Bei Missbrauchsverdacht sperren sie sofort „Zahlen per Handyrechnung“ bei Ihrem Mobilfunkbetreiber und wenden Sie sich an den Anbieter, bei dem die Produkte/Dienstleistung gekauft wurden. In vielen Fällen gehen diese sehr kulant vor. Zusätzlich wird die Zahlungsmethode durch den Anbieter unterbunden. So wird weiterer Schaden verhindert.

Einfach per SMS spenden

Für Spender/innen ist die SMS-Spende ganz einfach in drei Schritten abgewickelt: Die Spender/innen schicken ein SMS mit ihrem gewünschten Spendenbetrag für LICHT INS DUNKEL zwischen EUR 1 und EUR 50 an 0800 664 24 12.

Mobile Gaming: Come play with us

Wer erinnert sich nicht an Snake, Angry Birds oder Pokémon Go? Mobile Gaming ist längst zum Massenphänomen geworden. In Österreich spielen aktuell 5,3 Millionen Österreicher*innen Videospiele.