An initiative by:

Mobile Gaming: Come play with us

Who doesn't remember Snake, Angry Birds or Pokémon Go? Mobile gaming has long since become a mass phenomenon. In Austria, 5.3 million Austrians currently play video games. The most popular platform: the smartphone. After all, almost 44% regularly play games on their smartphone. But why is the smartphone so popular as a gaming platform and how did it come about?

From niche to mass phenomenon

The beginnings for mobile gaming existed long before smartphones. In 1994, a version of Tetris flickered across the so-called Hagenuk MT-2000 and 3 years later Nokia had its breakthrough with the world-famous Snake. With the introduction of smartphones, more elaborate mobile games were possible for the first time and thanks to the app stores, there were soon a variety of different genres and titles to pass the time with.

Among the best-known mobile games are certainly Candy Crush, Angry Birds or Temple Run - colorful birds were virtually thrown, sweets combined or wildly navigated through different stages with the mobile phone. The most successful mobile games to date, with over 1 billion downloads, are PUBG Mobile - a smartphone adaptation of the popular Battle Royale title - and Pokémon Go. With Pokémon Go at the latest, no one could get past the hype as early Poké fans scoured local parks and streets for the rare monsters. So what are the reasons for the hype around mobile games?

5 reasons why mobile games are so successful

  1. Easy entry possible

Mobile gaming has the advantage that apart from a smartphone and usually an internet connection, no other requirements are necessary. No expensive PCs or consoles are needed. Especially in this country, most people already own a smartphone for everyday life. So all you have to do is download the game and start playing.

  1. Free2Play thanks to in-game purchases

In contrast to PC or consoles, for which triple-A games can cost up to €60, many so-called Free2Play titles can be found in the app stores for smartphones. These games themselves are free, but there are micro-transactions. You can buy boosters, skins (cosmetic updates) or premium currency via in-game purchases to advance faster in-game. The entry-level packages are traditionally in the low single-digit euro range. There are now a variety of payment options available here and thanks to the Zahlenperhandyrechnung you don't have to link your credit card or load credit.

  1. Game as you go

Probably the biggest advantage of mobile gaming is that you can play from anywhere, because the smartphone is always with you: while waiting for the next appointment, on the way to work or while relaxing on vacation. And anyone who has ever looked around in the subways during rush hour will find a wide variety of games on the smartphone displays of their fellow passengers. With mobile gaming, the motto really is: gaming fun when and where you want. 

  1. Regular updates & great variety

Especially in the mobile gaming sector, there is now a staggering variety of genres, games and titles. In 2020, for example, the Apple App Store listed an absolute record total of 957,390 gaming apps. From adventure games to action, patience games, quiz games, racing, simulations or strategy, there is a suitable genre for all gamers. In addition, the manufacturers ensure that there are also long-term incentives for the games with regular updates, events and always new content.

  1. Growing importance of mobile e-sports

While mobile e-sports has already become a multi-million hype in Asia, e-sports titles such as Clash Royale or Brawl Stars are also conquering the smartphones and domestic e-sports stages in this country and are becoming bigger every year. Tournaments and leagues are emerging and renowned e-sports teams are signing mobile e-sports players. We are curious to see what will happen next.

So grab your smartphones and let's get going.

Tags:

SMS donation simplifies giving for younger target groups

Simply donate by SMS

For donors, the SMS donation is a simple three-step process: Donors send an SMS with their desired donation amount for LICHT INS DUNKEL between EUR 1 and EUR 50 to 0800 664 24 12.

Read more "

Paying by cell phone bill now also at XOXO

With powerful yet affordable rates for smartphones and cube, XOXO offers students in Austria a new alternative to the standardized providers. And on top of that, they benefit from the advantages of the "pay by cell phone bill" payment method without additional costs for a payment method.

Read more "

Eine Initiative von:

Mobile Gaming: Come play with us

Wer erinnert sich nicht an Snake, Angry Birds oder Pokémon Go? Mobile Gaming ist längst zum Massenphänomen geworden. In Österreich spielen aktuell 5,3 Millionen Österreicher*innen Videospiele. Die beliebteste Plattform: Das Smartphone. Denn immerhin knapp 44% gamen regelmäßig über das Smartphone. Doch warum ist das Smartphone als Game-Plattform so beliebt und wie kam es dazu?

Von der Nische zum Massenphänomen

Die Anfänge für Mobile Gaming gab es schon lange vor den Smartphones. 1994 flackerte eine Tetris Version über das sogenannte Hagenuk MT-2000 und 3 Jahre später hatte Nokia mit dem weltbekannten Snake seinen Durchbruch. Mit der Einführung der Smartphones waren erstmalig auch aufwändigere Mobile Games möglich und dank der App Stores gab es bald eine Vielzahl an verschiedenen Genres und Titel, mit denen man sich die Zeit vertreiben konnte.

Zu den bekanntesten Mobile Games zählen hier sicher Candy Crush, Angry Birds oder Temple Run – es wurden mit dem Handy virtuell bunte Vögel geworfen, Süßigkeiten kombiniert oder wild durch verschiedene Stages navigiert. Die bis dato erfolgreichsten Mobile Games mit über 1 Milliarde Downloads sind PUBG Mobile – eine Smartphone Adaption des beliebten Battle Royale Titels – sowie Pokémon Go. Spätestens bei Pokémon Go kam niemand mehr an dem Hype vorbei, als Poké-Fans der ersten Stunde die heimischen Parks und Straßen nach den seltenen Monstern durchkämmten. Was sind nun die Gründe für den Hype um Mobile Games?

5 Gründe, warum Mobile Games so erfolgreich sind

  1. Leichter Einstieg möglich

Mobile Gaming hat den Vorteil, dass außer einem Smartphone und meist einer Internet-Verbindung keine weiteren Voraussetzungen notwendig sind. Es werden keine teuren PCs oder Konsolen benötigt. Vor allem hierzulande besitzen bereits die meisten Menschen ein Smartphone für den Alltag. Da heißt es nur mehr, Game herunterladen und losspielen.

  1. Free2Play dank In-Game Purchases

Im Gegensatz zu PC oder Konsolen, für die Triple-A Games gerne bis zu 60€ kosten, finden sich für das Smartphone viele sogenannte Free2Play-Titel in den App Stores. Diese Games selbst sind dabei kostenlos, es gibt allerdings Micro-Transactions. Dabei kann man via In-Game Purchases Booster, Skins (kosmetische Updates) oder Premium-Währung kaufen, um schneller in-game voran zu kommen. Die Einstiegs-Pakete liegen hier traditionell im niedrigen einstelligen Euro-Bereich. Als Bezahloptionen stehen hier mittlerweile eine Vielzahl an Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung und dank Zahlen per Handyrechnung muss man nicht erst seine Kreditkarte verknüpfen oder umständlich Guthaben aufladen.

  1. Game as you go

Der wohl größte Vorteil bei Mobile Gaming liegt darin, dass man von überall spielen kann, denn das Smartphone ist immer dabei: Beim Warten auf den nächsten Termin, am Weg zur Arbeit oder beim Entspannen im Urlaub. Und wer sich schon einmal zur Rush-Hour in den U-Bahnen umgesehen hat, der findet die verschiedensten Games auf den Smartphone-Displays seiner Mitreisenden. Bei Mobile Gaming gilt wirklich: Spielspaß, wann und wo du willst. 

  1. Regelmäßige Updates & große Vielfalt

Besonders im Mobile Gaming Bereich gibt es mittlerweile eine umwerfende Vielfalt an Genres, Games und Titel. So führte der Apple App Store 2020 die absolute Rekordsumme von 957,390 Gaming Apps. Von Abenteuer-Games, über Action, Geduldsspiele, Quizspiele, Rennsport, Simulationen oder Strategie, es gibt für alle Gamer*innen ein passendes Genre. Außerdem sorgen die Hersteller mit regelmäßigen Updates, Events und immer neuem Content dafür, dass es auch langfristige Anreize für die Games gibt.

  1. Wachsende Bedeutung von Mobile E-Sports

Während in Asien der Mobile E-Sports bereits zum Millionenhype geworden ist, erobern E-Sports Titel wie Clash Royale oder Brawl Stars auch hierzulande die Smartphones und heimischen E-Sport Bühnen und werden von Jahr zu Jahr größer. Turniere und Ligen entstehen und renommierte E-Sport Teams nehmen mobile E-Sportler unter Vertrag. Wir sind gespannt, wie es weiter geht.

Also ran an die Smartphones und los geht es.

Tags:

SMS-Spende vereinfacht das Spenden für jüngere Zielgruppen

Einfach per SMS spenden

Für Spender/innen ist die SMS-Spende ganz einfach in drei Schritten abgewickelt: Die Spender/innen schicken ein SMS mit ihrem gewünschten Spendenbetrag für LICHT INS DUNKEL zwischen EUR 1 und EUR 50 an 0800 664 24 12.

Weiterlesen »