An initiative by:

Legal basis for "Zahlenperhandyrechnung"

RA Dr. Bernd Fletzberger, PFR Attorneys at Law

by RA Dr. Bernd Fletzberger, PFR Attorneys at Law

"Zahlenperhandyrechnung" is also known in technical jargon as Direct Carrier Billing (DCB), i.e. the direct billing of payment transactions via the mobile phone operator. DCB is a practical mobile payment option that does not require the disclosure of bank or credit card data.

Zahlenperhandyrechnung or DCB is currently used primarily for the billing of digital content, such as apps, music or features for online games. However, there are also possibilities to use DCB for the payment of physical goods, e.g. snacks at vending machines. In this case, the payment amount is charged to the mobile phone bill. The payment is finally made together with the payment of the mobile phone bill, usually by way of a SEPA direct debit via the user's house bank.

In principle, carrier billing is a payment service. Such transactions may only be offered by a company that holds a corresponding licence from the Financial Market Authority (FMA) or a corresponding licence from another competent EEA supervisory authority. Entities authorised to provide payment services are credit institutions, e-money institutions and payment institutions.

However, there is one important exception to the concession requirement. This applies to the billing of digital content and voice services, regardless of the device on which they are used. Furthermore, the exceptions allow donations (e.g. "donation SMS") and tickets to be billed via the mobile phone bill if the payment is made via an electronic device in each case. For example, electronic tickets for passenger transportation (e.g., subway, train or airline tickets), parking (e.g., in parking garages) and admission to events (e.g., concerts) can be paid via the mobile phone bill. The aim was to take account of the advance of digitalisation and ensure that people can order, pay for, receive and validate electronic tickets from anywhere and at any time via their mobile phone.  

It should be noted that mobile operators may only apply the exception if a single payment does not exceed € 50 and the sum of all monthly payments of a user does not exceed € 300.

However, for the settlement of payment transactions above and beyond this, as well as for the payment of physical goods via the mobile phone bill, a mobile network operator requires a corresponding payment service licence. However, mobile operators have the option to act as payment agents of another licensed payment institution. This allows mobile operators to process such payments for physical goods as well as digital goods above the aforementioned thresholds via the mobile phone bill in the name and for the account of the respective payment institution.

From a legal point of view, this results in a wide range of applications for the Zahlenperhandyrechnung. It is a very convenient alternative to other payment methods without the need for credit card details or online bank account access. From a merchant's point of view, the wide reach is also worth highlighting, as mobile phones are much more widespread among the population than credit cards, for example.

About PFR Attorneys at Law

PFR Rechtsanwälte is a leading boutique law firm for banking and capital markets law, with a special focus on payments law. Clients include banks, insurance companies, payment and e-money institutions, telecom companies, trading companies, software companies and FinTechs. Partner Dr. Bernd Fletzberger advises international and national clients in particular on all payment issues, such as concession proceedings, product development or the establishment of legally compliant processes in the area of money laundering prevention and the drafting of corresponding contracts and general terms and conditions. Bernd Fletzberger has many years of experience in financial markets law and is recommended by international lawyer rankings.

Contact: Dr. Bernd Fletzberger
Mail: fletzberger@pfr.at
Tel: +43 1 8770454
Web: www.pfr.at

Tags:

Eine Initiative von:

Rechtliche Grundlagen für das Zahlen per Handyrechnung

RA Dr. Bernd Fletzberger, PFR Rechtsanwälte

von RA Dr. Bernd Fletzberger, PFR Rechtsanwälte

„Zahlen per Handyrechnung“ wird im Fachjargon auch als Direct Carrier Billing (DCB) bezeichnet, also die direkte Abrechnung von Bezahlvorgängen über den Mobilfunkbetreiber. DCB ist eine praktische Möglichkeit der mobilen Bezahlung, bei der man keine Bank- oder Kreditkartendaten preisgeben muss.

Zahlen per Handyrechnung bzw. DCB wird derzeit in erster Linie für die Abrechnung von digitalen Inhalten, wie zB Apps, Musik oder Features für Online-Games, verwendet. Es gibt aber auch Möglichkeiten, DCB zur Bezahlung von physischen Gütern, z.B. Snacks an Automaten, zu verwenden. Der Bezahlbetrag wird dabei der Mobilfunkrechnung angelastet. Die Bezahlung erfolgt schließlich gemeinsam mit der Bezahlung der Handyrechnung, meist im Wege einer SEPA-Lastschrift über die Hausbank des Nutzers.

Grundsätzlich handelt es sich beim Carrier Billing um einen Zahlungsdienst. Solche Geschäfte darf nur ein Unternehmen anbieten, das über eine entsprechende Konzession der Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA) oder eine entsprechende Lizenz einer anderen zuständigen EWR-Aufsichtsbehörde verfügt. Zur Erbringung von Zahlungsdiensten berechtigte Unternehmen sind Kredit-, E-Geld- und Zahlungsinstitute.

Allerdings gibt es eine wichtige Ausnahme von der Konzessionspflicht. Diese gilt für die Abrechnung von digitalen Inhalten und Sprachdiensten, egal auf welchem Gerät sie genutzt werden. Weiters können über die Ausnahmen Spenden (z.B. „Spenden-SMS“) und Tickets über die Handyrechnung abgerechnet werden, wenn die Zahlung jeweils über ein elektronisches Gerät ausgeführt wird. So können etwa elektronische Tickets für die Personenbeförderung (z.B. U-Bahn-, Zug- oder Flugtickets), Parken (z.B. in Parkgaragen) und den Eintritt zu Veranstaltungen (z.B. Konzerten) über die Handyrechnung bezahlt werden. Damit wollte man der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung Rechnung tragen und sicherstellen, dass man von jedem Ort aus und zu jeder Zeit über das Mobiltelefon elektronische Tickets bestellen, bezahlen, erhalten und validieren kann.  

Zu beachten ist, dass Mobilfunkbetreiber die Ausnahme nur dann anwenden dürfen, wenn eine Einzelzahlung nicht höher als € 50,– und die Summe aller monatlichen Zahlungen eines Nutzers nicht höher als € 300,– ist.

Für die Abrechnung von darüber hinaus gehenden Zahlungstransaktionen sowie für die Bezahlung von physischen Gütern über die Handyrechnung benötigt ein Mobilfunkbetreiber jedoch eine entsprechende Zahlungsdienstkonzession. Allerdings haben Mobilfunkbetreiber die Möglichkeit, als Zahlungsagenten eines anderen lizenzierten Zahlungsinstitutes tätig zu werden. Das ermöglicht es Mobilfunkbetreibern, derartige Zahlungen für physische Güter sowie digitale Güter über den vorgenannten Schwellenwerten im Namen und für Rechnung des jeweiligen Zahlungsinstitutes über die Handyrechnung abzuwickeln.

Aus rechtlicher Sicht ergibt sich somit eine breite Einsatzpalette für das Zahlen per Handyrechnung. Es handelt sich um eine sehr praktische Alternative zu anderen Zahlungsmethoden, ohne dass man seine Kreditkartendetails oder Zugänge zum Online-Bankkonto benötigt. Aus Händlersicht ist zudem die große Reichweite hervorzuheben, da Mobiltelefone in der Bevölkerung deutlich weiter verbreitet sind als etwa Kreditkarten.

Zu PFR Rechtsanwälte

PFR Rechtsanwälte ist eine führende Boutique-Kanzlei für Bank- und Kapitalmarktrecht, mit einem besonderen Fokus auf Zahlungsverkehrsrecht. Zu den Klienten zählen Banken, Versicherungen, Zahlungs- und E-Geldinstitute, Telekom-Unternehmen, Handelsunternehmen, Software-Firmen und FinTechs. Partner RA Dr. Bernd Fletzberger berät internationale und nationale Mandanten insbesondere in sämtlichen Payment-Fragen, etwa bei Konzessionsverfahren, bei der Produktentwicklung oder Etablierung von rechtskonformen Prozessen im Bereich der Geldwäscheprävention und bei der Gestaltung von entsprechenden Verträgen und AGBs. Bernd Fletzberger verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung im Finanzmarktrecht und wird von internationalen Anwaltsrankings empfohlen.

Kontakt: Dr. Bernd Fletzberger
Mail: fletzberger@pfr.at
Tel: +43 1 8770454
Web: www.pfr.at